Power strike down winless Bulldogs

Sam Harkin booted five goals as the Power accounted for Panmure.

KOLORA Noorat’s premiership defence is gathering momentum after the Power accounted for Panmure in its round eight Warrnambool and District league clash.

The Power was forced to withstand a gritty Bulldogs outfit, who remained in touch until early in the final term of the 17.15 (117) to 11.6 (72) victory.

Kolora Noorat led by seven points at quarter time after a shootout between the two sides in the opening term, before the Power broke the game open just before half-time.

They kicked 5.6 to 1.0 in the second quarter to enter the break 37 points up, although the Power’s margin could have been greater if it was not for inaccuracy.

Panmure fought its way back into the match in the third term and outscored the Power 4.2 to 1.3 in the quarter, to be only 20 points adrift at the final change.

The Power’s experience and class stood out in the final term as they quickly snuffed out hope of a Bulldogs final quarter charge, running out with a 45 point victory.

Liam Howarth was best afield for the Power in his best game since joining the club this season, while Lachlan Mackay also played his best game this season.

Ben Fraser (four goals), Scott Judd, Luke Tebble and Nick Hoare rounded out the best players for the Power.

Sam Harkin is also starting to return to form and kicked five goals in the win for Kolora Noorat.

The win lifted the Power to fourth on the ladder, just behind South Rovers (third) on percentage.

The reserves match did not go ahead due to an injury sustained in the under 17.5s, which also caused the junior game to finish early.

The Power was leading at the time of the injury and was awarded a 5.9 (39) to 2.4 (16) victory.

Charlie Scanlon, Bailey Kavanagh, Oliver Wright, Jack Aitken and Caleb McLean were the Power’s best in the win.

The injured player was later given the all clear on Saturday night and returned home.

The under 14.5s also recorded a strong victory, winning 13.12 (90) to 2.4 (16).

Ryley Hutchins (five goals), Riley Scanlon, Henry Kenna, Jack Carlin, Michael Hoey and Jordan Kavanagh were the side’s best players.

Comments are closed.