Terang Express
Community service course begins

NEW learning opportunities have begun at Terang College as part of the Corangamite Trade Training Cluster project.

The Corangamite Trade Training Cluster consists of Vocational Education and Training in Schools (VETiS) courses on offer at a number of schools across the region.

The Terang arm of the project has started offering Certificate II in Community Services classes for VETiS students, after deferring last year due to insufficient interest.

Terang College program co-ordinator Julie-Ann Kelly said the Terang project is the result of years of hard work from a dedicated group of people.

“It has taken 10 years to come to fruition,” she said.

“Without everyone working towards this, it wouldn’t have got off the ground.”

The program also includes other courses on offer at Cobden Technical School (automotive, building and electrotechnology) and Timboon P-12 School (hospitality, engineering and music industry).

Camperdown College has further deferred its hairdressing and beauty course for 2019 after insufficient interest, with Derrinallum also waiting for more interest for its agriculture course to restart in 2020.

A bus transports students participating in a VETiS course between the different sites.

Ms Kelly said the new addition allows Terang College to provide educational opportunities from Foundation through to tertiary-level courses.

“The proudest thing for the college is we can say we are a one-stop-shop for education,” she said.

The Terang class is held every Thursday in the dedicated Corangamite Trade Training Cluster building at the Strong Street senior campus from 10am until 2pm.

Corangamite Shire aged and disability services co-ordinator Jon Sedgley is teaching the Terang course.

Ms Kelly said the next focus of the project is organising better transport services for the students between the different courses.

This year’s participants in the Terang arm of the program are:

• Terang College – Tegan Hoare and Jenny McIntosh;

• Camperdown College – Emily Smith, Millie Kempton, Caitlin O’Connor and Cailin Pearce;

• Timboon P-12 School – Alanah Bellis, Emily Crabbe and Riona Anderson; and

• Hampden Specialist School – Shaye Worthington.

Ms Kelly said the development is the outcome of a number of people’s efforts, including past principal Adam Box, former assistant principal Kerrin McKenzie and a number of past and present school council members.